Menu
Travel Alberta

Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program – Reminder

If you have not already submitted your online application to the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program please do so before the June 22, 2016 deadline.

In 2017, Canadians across the country will celebrate Canada's 150th anniversary of Confederation (Canada 150), a key milestone in the life of our country. Budget 2016 provides an additional $150 million over two years to the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program.

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) has received an additional $46.2 million to invest in projects aiming to rehabilitate existing community infrastructure in Western Canada. WD is seeking new applications under a second call for proposals that will close on June 22nd, 2016. Under the second call for proposals, priority will be given to:

  • Recreational facilities;
  • Projects that support a clean growth economy (i.e., energy efficiency upgrades); and/or,
  • Projects that support Indigenous communities and Peoples. 

Detailed information on WD’s second call for proposals to the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, including important details on eligibility, application requirements and program priorities, are available at http://www.wd-deo.gc.ca/eng/18872.asp.

Applications in Western Canada will be accepted from Tuesday, May 24th, 2016 until Wednesday, June  22nd, 2016 @

1:00 p.m. Pacific Time
2:00 p.m. Mountain Time
3:00 p.m. Central Time.

For Canadians affected by the devastating wildfires in Fort McMurray and areas of north-east Alberta, Western Economic Diversification Canada will extend this period for impacted applicants.

If you are aware of other organizations that may be interested in the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, we invite you to share this information within your network.

Western Economic Diversification Canada