Travel Alberta

2016 Alto Winners

Alto Ambassador Award

Jim Muir, Clique Hotels & Resorts


Jim Muir, President, Clique Hotels & Resorts
Steve Warme, Marketing Manager, Calgary Airport Authority (award sponsor)

2016 Alto Award Winners

Alberta Pride

Heritage Park Historical Village, Calgary

Alberta Pride

Barb Munro, Communications Specialist; Alida Visbach, President & CEO, Heritage Park
Jackie Clayton, Vice President Public Relations & Partnerships, Pomeroy Lodging (award sponsor)
Jackie Fries, Digital Marketing Specialist; Melissa Gillespie, Marketing and Tourism Specialist, Heritage Park

2016 Alberta Pride winning submission

Finalists: Aspen Crossing, Mossleigh; SnowSeekers/FestivalSeekers, Edmonton
Tourism Event or Festival

Jasper Dark Sky Festival, Tourism Jasper

event or festival

Honourable Ricardo Miranda, Minister of Culture and Tourism
Myriam Bolduc, Tourism Jasper
Ryan Thompson, Mukwah Rafting Tours (Alto Committee)

Finalists: Badlands AMP Festival, The Badlands Ampitheater, Drumheller; Big Valley Jamboree, Camrose
Marketing Excellence (Up to $10,000)

Chinook Country Tourist Association, Lethbridge

Marketing up to 10k

Jean-Marc Guillamot, Board Chair, Fort McMurray Tourism
Tawny Bertolozzi, Coordinator, Content Development, Chinook Country Tourist Association
Jesse Meyer, Associate, Vice President, Commercial, Fort McMurray Airport Authority (award sponsor)

2016 Marketing Excellence (Up To $10,000) winning submission

Finalists: #LooksGoodOnYou, Fort Edmonton Park, Edmonton; #Passionplaycountdown, Canadian Badlands Passion Play, Drumheller
Marketing Excellence ($10,000-$50,000)

Tourism Red Deer, Red Deer

"Bring This Story Alive"
Marketing 10 - 15k

Liz Taylor, Executive Director, Tourism Red Deer
Richard Main, Past-Chair, Calgary Hotel Association (award sponsor)

2016 Marketing Excellence ($10,000-$50,000) winning submission

Finalists: "Canmore in the Bag", Clique Hotels and Resorts, Canmore; "Go Ski Alberta", Canada West Ski Areas Association (CWSAA)
Marketing Excellence (Over $50,000)

Calgary Zoo

Marketing over 50k

Roz Freeman, Advisor, Special Events & Promotions, Calgary Zoo
Adrienne Buhr, Marketing Advisor, Calgary Zoo
Adrian Wachola, Manager, International Inbound Market Development, Edmonton International Airport (award sponsor)

2016 Marketing Excellence (Over $50,000) winning submission

Finalists: 2016 Big Valley Jamboree, Camrose; "Explore Sundre", Town of Sundre
Marketing Partnership

Reynolds-Alberta Museum, Wetaskiwin

"Motorcycle Ride to Reynolds"
Marketing Partnership

Perry Batke, Board Chair, Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association (award sponsor)
Cynthia Blackmore, Head, Marketing and Communications, Reynolds-Alberta Museum

2016 Marketing Partnership winning submission

Finalists: Central Alberta Tourism Alliance; "Timber Falls Hotel Package", Calaway Park, Calgary
Outstanding Sustainable Tourism

Medalta, In the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat


Barry Finkleman, Executive Director, Medalta
Pat Thomsen, Executive Director, Pacific and Mountain Parks, Parks Canada (award sponsor)
Aaron Nelson, Associate Director, Medalta

2016 Outstanding Sustainable Tourism winning submission

Finalists: Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village, Edmonton; Waterton Wildflower Festival, Waterton Park Community Association, Waterton
Service Excellence

Sunshine Village Ski & Snowboard Resort, Banff

Service Excellence

Accepting from Sunshine Village: Dave Riley, COO; Don Beaulieu, VP Sales & Marketing; Kendra Scurfield, Social Media Coordinator; Jason Tamagi, Director of Sales & Marketing; Lindsay Gallagher, Media & Marketing Coordinator; Ralph Scurfield, President & CEO
Dave Rigby, Manager, Regional Sales-Client Marketing, Corus Entertainment (award sponsor)

2016 Service Excellence winning submission

Finalists: CHARCUT & charbar, Calgary; Cornerstone Weddings, Canmore
Tourism Media

Jody Robbins

"Walking Through a Winter Wonderland"

Brian Hodgson, Sergeant-at-Arms and Director of Visitor, Ceremonial and Security Services, Legislative Assembly (award sponsor)
Jody Robbins, Travel Writer

Finalists: "Calgary is Upping the Steaks", Amy Rosen; "The Man Who Inspired Charles Darwin", Carol Patterson