Travel Alberta

New Travel Alberta Board members appointed

Five Albertans have been appointed to the Board of Directors at Travel Alberta to help grow tourism in our province.  

Three new members include George Brookman of Calgary, Bernadette Kollman of Edmonton, and Dwight Logan of Grande Prairie. All have been appointed to three year terms, expiring on March 31, 2016.  

Two current members, Rick LeLacheur of Edmonton and Steven Glover of Canmore, have been reappointed to the board for two more years. LeLacheur has also been reappointed as Vice-Chair of the board. Board members are eligible to serve for a maximum of three consecutive terms.  

“I am thrilled that these five Albertans will provide their business skills, knowledge and experience to Travel Alberta,” said Dr. Richard Starke, Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation. “All of their expertise provides sound governance to Travel Alberta in its award winning efforts to attract visitors from around the world to our province.”  

Travel Alberta was established as a legislated corporation on April 1, 2009. With these appointments, the Board of Directors now has nine members, including Chair Quincy Smith of Calgary.  

Board members are eligible for remuneration and expenses outlined in the Public Service Act, in addition to travel expenses related to board business.

Biographies of new and reappointed Travel Alberta board members:

George Brookman of Calgary offers tourism sector experience as the former chair of both Tourism Calgary and the Calgary Exhibition and Stampede. He has a strong corporate background, serving on numerous boards and as CEO of West Canadian Industries Group.  

Bernadette Kollman of Edmonton works in executive sales and service delivery in the information technology sector, with a primary focus on the public sector. She has served on a variety of boards, including roles as Past Chair of Edmonton Chamber of Commerce, Co-Chair of Alberta’s Promise, and currently sits on the board for the United Way of the Alberta Capital Region. 

Dwight Logan is a former business owner, alderman and mayor from Grande Prairie. In addition to his business and civic background, he brings governance expertise from serving on boards such as the Grande Prairie and District Chamber of Commerce, the Society for the 1995 Canada Winter Games, and the John Howard Society.  

Steven Glover of Canmore has served two terms on Travel Alberta’s Board of Directors. He has spent the majority of his career with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta, including serving as Executive Director and CEO from 1984 to 2005. Glover is now the Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer of Western Plains Petroleum Ltd., and Chief Financial Officer of Clearview Resources. He has served on various boards, including as Chair of Audit Committees for the Caritas Health Group and the Edmonton Community Foundation.

Rick LeLacheur of Edmonton has served on Travel Alberta’s Board of Directors since 2009 and was first appointed Vice-Chair in 2012. LeLacheur is advisor to the Edmonton Eskimo Football Club’s Board of Directors and has extensive board experience with organizations such as the Workers Compensation Board, Alberta Economic Development Authority, and TELUS Corporation. LeLacheur previously served as President and CEO of Economic Development Edmonton and the Edmonton 2001 World Championships in Athletics.

Travel Alberta