Travel Alberta

2015 CSTA PRESTIGE Awards Nominations Now Open

The Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance (CSTA) is now accepting nominations for its annual CSTA PRESTIGE Awards, a program which recognizes exceptional sport tourism initiatives, games and events. The Awards also shine a spotlight on the people and places behind these initiatives, games and events that make the Canadian sport tourism industry so dynamic and diverse. 

“The CSTA PRESTIGE Awards are about honouring leaders in Canada’s sport tourism industry—which is a significant part of the national economy and tourism industry”, said Rick Traer, CSTA CEO. “By celebrating the initiatives, games and events that build our sport system, we are at the same time celebrating the importance of sport tourism as a grassroots economic development initiative across Canada. It is a win-win for everyone.”

These awards are presented annually in seven categories to individuals, companies, events and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the success of the sport tourism industry across Canada. 

This seventh edition of the CSTA PRESTIGE Awards will be presented at a gala luncheon event on March 31, 2015, in Toronto at the Sheraton Centre. The gala luncheon takes place in conjunction with CSTA’s annual Sport Events Congress (March 30 to April 1), which is Canada’s largest annual gathering of sport and tourism professionals, event managers and industry suppliers that attracts approximately 400 delegates each year.

2015 CSTA Award Categories:

  • CSTA Canadian Sport Event of the Year Award presented by Edmonton Events
  • Canadian Sport Event of the Year (budget under $1 Million)
  • Canadian Sport Event of the Year (budget over $1 Million).
  • CSTA International Sport Event of the Year Award presented by Regional Sport Tourism Office (Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge-Guelph)
  • CSTA Sport Event Volunteer of the Year Award presented by Sheraton Centre Toronto
  • CSTA Sport Tourism Champion Award presented Tourism Toronto
  • CSTA Sport Tourism Organization of the Year Award presented by WestJet
  • CSTA Canadian Sport Event Sponsor of the Year Award presented by Adup
  • CSTA Sustainable Sport Event of the Year Award


  • All 2015 Nomination criteria can be found at:
  • Award nominations must have occurred during the 2014 calendar year unless otherwise specified.
  • Self-nominations are permitted and encouraged by individuals or organizations.
  • Any previous recipient of a PRESTIGE Award from the year prior (2013) will not be eligible for nomination in the current year (2014) for a Prestige Award in the same category


Nominations for the 2014 CSTA PRESTIGE Awards will be accepted until 8:00 pm EST on January 15th, 2015. Links to the nomination forms can be found online at

About the Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance

The Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance is a tourism industry led organization that promotes sport tourism as an economic development initiative at the community level. The CSTA services over 400 members across Canada, including 145 municipalities, 200 national and provincial sport, multi-sport and major games organizations and variety of other sport and tourism industry partners. Sport tourism is the fastest growing segment of the tourism industry with approximately $5.2 billion in annual spending by domestic and international visitors.

For more information contact:
Aline Lafrenière, Communications
(613) 791-4032 or

Canadian Sport Tourism Alliance