Travel Alberta

Redford government celebrates provincial parks volunteers

Seven individuals and two organizations were recognized for their volunteerism, stewardship and hospitality at the Alberta Parks Volunteer Awards.

“Volunteerism is the lifeblood of our communities. These amazing individuals and organizations contribute time and resources to protect our natural heritage and make Alberta an even better place to visit and live.” says Dr. Richard Starke, Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation.

2013 Alberta Parks Volunteer Award winners:

Partnership Appreciation Award: The Venturers Society (Elkwater) for providing opportunities for people with developmental disabilities to experience nature at Cypress Hills Provincial Park.

Host Hospitality Award: Allan and Shirley Sept (Lethbridge) for enhancing the experience of visitors to Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park/Áísínai’pi National Historic Site.

Host Hospitality Award: Doug and Bev Pickell (Lethbridge) for enhancing the experience of visitors to Firerock Campground at Cypress Hills Provincial Park.

Outstanding Individual Steward Award: Guy and Nonie Swinnerton (Edmonton) for wildlife reporting at Hastings Lake Islands Natural Area.

Outstanding Individual Steward Award: Doug Kielau (Calgary) for monitoring seasonal wildlife variances at Threepoint Creek Natural Area.

Outstanding Group Steward Award: Castle Crown Wilderness Coalition, (Pincher Creek) for providing environmental education and protection at the West Castle Wetlands Ecological Reserve.

Award nominations were submitted by Albertans, parks staff, volunteers and partners. The awards presentation was held in conjunction with the annual Alberta Parks Volunteer Conference, September 13 to 15, in Pincher Creek.

Each year, more than 2,500 Albertans volunteer more than 100,000 hours of their time to enhance the experience of parks visitors and preserve our natural heritage. 

Read more about the award winners.

Alberta Tourism, Parks and Recreation