Travel Alberta

Alberta SouthWest wins two awards from Economic Developers Alberta

Economic Developers Alberta's most prestigious honour, the 2013 Economic Developer of the Year Award, has been presented to the Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance. 
Bev Thornton, Executive Director of the Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance, accepted the award at the Economic Developers Alberta's annual conference in Kananaskis on April 11. 
The award recognizes the significant contribution that the Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance has made to to economic development in Alberta. Thornton was instrumental in the formation of this collaborative economic development initiative of 15 communities, which has demonstrated award winning successes since its formation in 2003.   

Alberta SouthWest also received a 2013 Alex Metcalf Award for its Regional Business License Program. This program, successfully operating since 2003, enables businesses in the AlbertaSW partner communities to purchase an annual regional license authorizing them operate in the other participating communities. The region experiences, in a concrete way, the broader benefits of working together. The Alex Metcalfe Award, named after the first President of the Economic Developers Association of Alberta, acknowledges individuals or agencies for excellence in economic development relating to the attraction, expansion or retention of business in Alberta.    

This is not the first time that Alberta SouthWest has received awards from Economic Developers Alberta. In 2012, they received three Marketing Alberta Awards, representing outstanding marketing initiatives that support economic development. In addition, that same year, they received five national Marketing Canada Awards from the Economic Development Association of Canada (EDAC), including the EDAC Cup for outstanding overall achievement.   

The Alberta Southwest Regional Alliance (AlbertaSW) is a group of 15 communities, working together for regional economic development. The Board is made up of the Mayor/Reeve/elected official from each member community. Collaborative initiatives focus on creating the right environment in which balanced growth can occur, increasing prosperity for all members. What defines AlbertaSW is our excitement about the potential of our rural communities and the pride we take in living here. We want to see each other succeed, not only because we support each other but also because when one community thrives, there is the potential for every community to benefit. This is what drives us; and this is the key to our success as a regional economic development alliance.     

Economic Developers Alberta is Alberta’s economic development network dedicated to advancing the economic development profession in the province of Alberta by providing an active network of communications, information and education. It is a not-for-profit organization governed by a volunteer board of directors, who represent the interests of its membership as a whole. The annual Awards of Excellence honour Alberta communities and individuals for excellence in business attraction, retention, expansion and marketing.   
Alberta SouthWest Regional Economic Development Alliance