Travel Alberta

Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association Elects New Board

The Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) is pleased to announce its 2013 - 2014 Board of Directors.

"Elections are an indication of a vital association," said Mike Shymka, Chair of the AHLA’s Governance Committee. "We were pleased to have elections in our north and south zones, and to see two candidates elected from the mountain parks."

The new Board includes owners, general managers, and senior staff from hotels and motels from around the province. Individuals elected to their position in 2013 are identified with an * and will serve a two year term.

Perry Wilford, Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre, Calgary

Vice Chairs
Michael Sieger, Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton*
Perry Batke, Best Western Denham Inn & Suites, Leduc
Joseph Clohessy, Calgary Marriott Hotel

Directors, North
Mark Hope, Coast Hotels & Resorts*
Peter Parmar, Nova Hotels*
Tony Verbisky, Ramada Inn, Lloydminster
Steven Watters,  Sawridge Inn & Conference Centre, Fort McMurray

Directors, Central
Robin Cumine, Radisson Hotel Edmonton South
Tina Tobin, Alberta Place Suite Hotel*

Directors, South
Chris Barr, Banff Aspen Lodge*
Leanne Shaw-Brotherston, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Calgary
Tanya Yurko, Bellstar Hotels & Resorts*

Past Chair
Mike Shymka, Town & Country Motel, Calgary*

For more information please contact:
Dave Kaiser, CHA
President & CEO
(780) 436-6112

Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association members are owners and operators of hotels, motels, inns, resorts, bed and breakfasts, lodges, and suppliers to the tourism & hospitality industry. Through the AHLA, members benefit from programs & services that meet the unique needs of the hospitality industry and influence government on issues that affect their businesses. For more information, please visit

Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association